



AASMC welcomes you all to the Annual General Body Meeting October 10, 2015



Department of History Mrs. A K Janaki



- She joined History as the first batch 1957 under Mother Silvester who was a devout history teacher
- University Rank Holder
- Taught at SDNB Vaishnav College for women at Chromepet from 1969 and retired in 1997
- Takes classes for competitive exams at some institutes
- Her passion for History continues even on having reached the age of 76





Department of Sociology Ms. R V Ramya Bharathi, I.P.S





- ✤ 2003 2006 Batch
- She joined Civil Services
- Currently DCP of Coimbatore



Department of Economics Ms. Bindu Ananth



- Masters Degrees from the Institute of Rural Management (IRMA) and Harvard University's John. F. Kennedy School of Government.
- Fellow of the Global Economic Society
- Member of the FICCI Taskforce on Financial Inclusion and the RBI Committee on Comprehensive Financial Services
- President of IFMR Trust since January 2008 and chairs the Boards of IFMR Capital and IFMR Finance Foundation



1996 – 1999 Batch



Department of English Ms. Anupama Chandrasekhar





- Chennai based Playwright
- Attended the Royal Court International Residency on a British Council-Charles Wallace Trust of India Fellowship in 2000
- Shortlisted for the Evening Standard Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright, for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize and John Whiting Award for 'Free Outgoing'
- Regional Winner Asia of the Commonwealth Short Story Competition 2006.



Department of Fine Arts Ms. Sharan Apparao





1979 – 1982 Batch

An established name in the Indian art world.

- Honored by FICCI as one of the top women achievers in the country for promoting contemporary Indian art
- Runs the Apparao gallery and manages her auction house Apparao art Auctions and export concern 'Art Route' through which she takes Contemporary Indian Art global
- Writer on art and travels for various publications
- * "The business of art, minus the art of business", that is her motto.



Department of Commerce Ms. Shweta Mohan



- Renowned playback singer.
- She has sung in Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Hindi languages. Shweta has sung for some of the most celebrated music directors in India like Illayaraja and A. R. Rahman.
- Won several Best Female Playback singer award including the Filmfare award and the Kerala State Film Award (2007). She also has several albums to her credit.





Department of Mathematics Ms. Nirmala Subramanian





1973-1978 Batch

- Deputy General Manager -Regional Telecom Training Centre Maraimalai Nagar, Chennai
- Took active role as a pioneer in establishing BSNL cellular services & its related Customer Service Related activities
- Contributed to the formation of fully computerized complaints cell
- Awarded the prestigious Sanchar Seva Padak in the year 2006



Department of Physics Dr. Rita John



- Professor and Head of the Department of Theoretical Physics, University of Madras
- Visiting Professor on Fulbright Fellowship at the Department of Physics and Astronomy, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, Texas, USA (2014).
- She is especially interested in teaching science through the vernacular medium and improving the standard of physics learning through training the trainers from different parts of Tamil Nadu.



Graduated in 1990



Department of Chemistry Dr. Preetha Reddy





- Pioneer businesswomen of India in the segment of healthcare industry
- Vice Chairman of Apollo Hospitals (Chennai)
- Works with industry bodies and the Government of India to advance policy decisions on healthcare issues
- Several social projects like SACHI (Save A Child's Heart Initiative)
- She was conferred the degree of Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) by the Dr. MGR Medical University, Tamil Nadu in recognition of her outstanding work in the field of healthcare.



Department of Botany Dr. B.C. Archana Kalyani I.F.S





- Presently working as Director, Tribal Welfare
- Awarded Gold Medal by the Ministry of Environment & Forests for standing First in 2002-2004 SFS Course.
- Worked as Deputy Director in Arignar Anna Zoological Park (AAZP)



Department of Zoology Dr. K. Vijayalakshmi

- Research on organic crop protection as well as conservation and utilisation of agro-biodiversity
- Founder Trustee of CIKS (Centre for Indian Knowledge Systems)
- Concentrated on building the capacity of farmers on various aspects of sustainable agriculture
- A member of the expert committee of several government bodies relating to organic and indigenous agriculture and biocultural diversity
- Has won several awards including one for her services in advancing the cause of women in the field of science





Department of Computer Science Ms. Aruna Jane





- BCA (2002) and MSc IT(2004)
- Started her career in Covansys India Pvt. Ltd. as Software Engineer.
- Currently she is the Senior Business Analyst in AON, the company which sponsored Manchester United Football team.
- She has total of 10yrs of IT industry and all 10years in PeopleSoft ERP in HR domain.



Department of Social Work Dr. Bhooma Parthasarathy



- Founder & Director of Thirumalai Charity Trust (TCT), Social Worker in Vellore District for more than three decades.
- Pioneered a unique Integrated Model of Primary and Secondary healthcare
- Instrumental in setting up the Thirumalai Mission Hospital in 2010 to provide accessible and affordable secondary healthcare
- Winner of several awards for

services

